comfort mugs

June 3, 2008 at 12:37 am 2 comments

My brother was the first visitor to the Orkney Isles from a member of my family. It was a short visit. We talked some. He and his beautiful wife spent hours walking around in the unusually sunny and dry weather. He helped a lot with getting the business up and selflessly spent hours working away at images for signs and bags and balloons and… When they left it hit me stronger than I expected. I went down to my wheel and began “comfort throwing”. Thinking how great it was that I had something to soothe me when I was feeling low I decided to throw for the sheer pleasure and comfort of it a shape that met me where I was. I threw a shape for a “comfort mug”. Wide and rounded to welcome my hands to embrace the maximum warmth. No handle to get in the way or discourage me from the full tactile experience of the soothing warmth of a cup of tea.

Entry filed under: my products. Tags: , , .

Pebble pots chooks and a rabbit

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonny McCormick  |  September 5, 2008 at 12:21 am

    are these available to purchase anywhere online? I’m sure my fiance would love one… if they are not yet available online you could consider getting an etsy site…it may help generate some extra income?

    Jonny

  • 2. Matt Freer  |  January 24, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Debbie,

    Just wondered if it is possible to buy your mugs or other things online?

    I’ve seen some of your creations that Andrew has shared with staff at CMS and my wifes b’day is coming up!

    Matt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi. My name is Debbie Jones and I am the potter. You can contact me by email or visit my wonderful pottery called Gone 2 Pot. The Sorting Room, 37a Victoria Street, Stromness, Orkney Islands KW163BS, UK
You can now buy my pottery through my online shop

Categories

Feeds


